During the sign-up flow
When your account is connected you will see the name on your account and your profile image appear in full color on the account connection screen. If the account appears greyed out, it is not successfully connected.
When reconnecting accounts
When an account connection is expired, you will see a link to "Reconnect" the account. When an account connection is active, the link will instead say "Add New".